SARI Energu

South Asia Regional Initiative for Energy Integration

Project Steering Committee Profile

Dr Sanjay Sharma

Dr Sanjay Sharma

(PSC Chair 2014-15) Joint Secretary, Ministry of Energy, Government of Nepal


Phone: +977-1-421-536

Dr. Sanjay Sharma heads the Policy and Foreign Coordination Division at the Ministry of Energy (MoEN). Before joining MoEN, he served as Joint Secretary at the Water and Energy Commission Secretariat (WECS) and as Director General at the Department of Electricity Development (DOED). During 2015, Dr. Sharma also participated in the SARI/EI Program as Chairman of the Project Steering Committee.

Dr. Sharma is a Registered Civil Engineer in Nepal. He joined the service of Government of Nepal in 1991 and worked in various capacities at different government departments. Besides serving on the boards of different government entities, he is also a member of the Civil Engineering Subject Committee at the Institute of Engineering of Tribhuvan University.

Dr. Sharma received his PhD in Civil and Environmental Engineering in 2003 from the University of California in Davis (UC Davis) with a specialization in Water Resources Engineering. While at UC Davis, he also worked as a Research Engineer in the Hydraulics Laboratory of the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering. In 1998, he graduated from the University of Roorkee, now Indian Institute of Technology – Roorkee, where he was awarded Chancellor’s Gold Medal.